Overview of PTAD

The Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD) is an agency of the Federal Government established in August 2013 in compliance with the provisions of Section 30 sub-section (2) (a) of the Pension Reform Act (PRA) of 2004 (amended in 2014) which stipulated the establishment of an independent pension department for the Public Service of the Federation.

PTAD is made up of the following departments (Section 43 (3) of the Pension Reform Act):

  • The Civil Service Pension Department (CSPD)
  • The Police Pension Department (PPD)
  • The Customs, Immigration and Prisons Pension Department (CIPPD)
  • The Treasury Funded Parastatals Pension Department (PaPD)
  • The Pensioner Support Services Department (PSSD)
  • The Finance and Accounts Department (FAD)

In accordance with another Act of the National Assembly, the following pension departments were exempted from the consolidation and management of PTAD:

  • The Military Pension Department
  • The Security Agencies Pension Department



To achieve stakeholders’ satisfaction through the delivery of exceptional pension services.


To be a model organization delivering innovative, efficient and sustainable pension services


  • Learning, Innovation and Growth
  • Empathy
  • Accountability and Transparency
  • Professionalism

Functions of PTAD

  • Make budgetary estimates for existing pensioners and the officers exempted from the Scheme established by the PRA 2004 under Section 8.
  • Prepare and submit the monthly payroll of pensioners to the OAGF for direct payment from the budgetary allocation maintained with the CBN to pensioners’ bank account.
  • Issue payment instructions to OAGF.
  • Maintain a comprehensive database of pensioners under their jurisdiction.
  • Ascertain deficits in pension payments, if any, to existing pensioners.
  • Render monthly returns to the Commission on existing staff, pensioner, deceased pensioners and Nok.