The Customs, Immigration and Prisons Pension Department (CIPPD) was first established by Decree 75 of 1993 as the Customs, Immigration and Prisons Pension Office (CIPPO) with the primary objective of managing pension funds of all officers from the paramilitary services of Customs, Immigrations and Prisons who retired from the Services on or before 30th June, 2007. It was merged into the Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD) in August 2013. The Department oversees the pension administration of the 3 para-military services – Customs, Immigration and Prisons pensioners.

Who is an eligible Customs, Immigration and Prisons under PTAD?

a. An officer that served either the Nigerian Customs Service, Nigerian Immigration Service or the Nigerian Prisons Service for a minimum of 10 years before 31st March, 1977 and attained 45 years of age.

b. An officer who served for a minimum of 15 years from 1st April, 1977 to 31st May, 1992 and attained 45 years of age.

c. An officer who served for a minimum of 10 years from 1st June 1992 to 30th June 2007 and attained 45 years of age.

d. An officer who retired after serving for 35 years or on attainment of 60 years of age under the three departments of Customs, Immigration and Prisons on or before 30th June, 2007.

e. An officer who was compulsorily retired by the Federal Government from the Customs, Immigration or Prisons Services either for reason of reorganization or public interest on or before 30th June, 2007.


Paramilitary pensioners who are eligible include the following categories:

A. Regular Pensioners: Are pensioners who retired before the creation of the defunct CIPPO and were transferred from the Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation to CIPPO in 2004.

These are Pensioners who retired voluntarily and have attained the minimum number of years for gratuity/pension as at the date of their retirement; pensioners who retired statutorily having 60 years of age or 35 years in service; and those retired compulsorily (i.e. downsized) but have attained the minimum number of 10 years’ service.

B. EX-BIAFRA PARDONEE: These are Paramilitary Officers who joined the Biafra army and fought in the Civil War but were pardoned in May 2000 by the President Olusegun Obasanjo Administration.

Due Pensioners

Due Pensioners are paramilitary officers who served for a minimum of 10/15 years (as applicable), retired voluntarily but had not attained the age of 45 at the time of the retirement. This retiree would be paid his or her gratuity on retirement but not enrolled into the monthly pension until he/she attains 45 years of age. He/she becomes a due pensioner at attainment of age 45.

Note: The 45 years rule or policy does not apply to compulsory retirement due to Government reform exercise (called downsized) for officers who must have served a minimum of 10 years.

Requirements for NOK documentation and to Claim Death Benefits Natural Death – Section 5

A. Death While in Service
Gratuity and five (5) years pension one-off payment will be paid to the registered NOKs.

B) Death after retirement
Balance of unpaid pension will be paid to the registered NOKs if the retiree died less than five (5) years after retirement.

Categories of Cases under Section 5 include the following:

1. Officers who died naturally while in the service are entitled to gratuity & 5 years arrears of pensions.

2. Officers who retired and died while processing their retirement benefits are entitled to Gratuity & 5 years dependable pension.

3. Officers who retired and have received gratuity but died before enrolment for monthly pension will receive 5 years pension;

4. Officers who are already on monthly pension payroll but have not received up to 5 years pension before their death are entitled to balance of pension.

Death in Active Service – Section 6

1. This is a case where a Customs, Immigration or Prisons Officer is killed or dies in the course of his duty and his entitlements will be paid to his family;

2. Apart from the gratuity, the spouse and the children under 18 years of age (maximum of six) are entitled to monthly pensions;

3. 1/9 of his total Pensionable Emolument until they each attain 18 years of age or death while 2/3 of his total pensionable emolument will be paid if it is only one child;

4. 1/3 of his annual pension for the spouse until she remarries or dies.

5. Spouse will be paid 2/3 after all the children have attained 18 years.